Staying on Track

It’s difficult to stay on the gentle path. Lust hits are everywhere and sometimes they send you reeling before you have your defenses marshaled.

I think many women would agree that finding the right bra is almost as difficult as finding a pair of jeans that fit. Unfortunately for me, trying on bras is still a bit of an iffy proposition, thanks to Fr. M the wonder therapist sharing his leather fetish with me. Toward the end of my therapy with him, I was buying leather underwear, visiting leather shops, getting help and advice from the shop owners. Ugh. Since those memories still come with a fair amount of shame and nausea that combines nicely with all the normal angst of standing in front of a dressing room mirror, I avoid trying on bras. The style that fits me is, unfortunately, only found at Victoria’s Secrets. That’s not an easy place for someone like me to shop. For a long time, I would feel sick just walking past the store. It’s much better now. I can go in, select what I need, pay and leave almost like a “normal” person. Since I know it’s going to be difficult, I make sure I’m not Hungry, Angry, Lonely, or Tired. I acknowledge my feelings: pride in how far I’ve progressed in my recovery; anger and sadness at how badly I was hurt and how I colluded in my own abuse.

But what about those hits that seem to come out of the blue? In the Big Book there’s a line that says something to the effect that sooner or later there will come a time when we have no defense against taking that first drink. Only a higher power can save you then. Well, I don’t believe there’s any magic HP in the sky who’s going to tap me with his magic sobriety wand. What I do believe is that there are times when I’m going to lose my sobriety if I don’t maintain my recovery.

Scientists hooked people up to a PET scanner and discovered that we actually decide to move a finger before we’re consciously aware we’ve decided. Maybe this is what’s happening in that defenseless moment. I don’t know. What I do know is that I’ve been on the Internet on the verge of taking that first sip before it clicks that I’m getting ready to step off the gentle path and and back onto the insane highway of active addiction. It’s most definitely a deer in the headlights phenomenon. And so far, I have had the presence of mind to get the hell out of danger. As the Big Book says, I “recoil as if from a hot flame.”

I believe that has happened because I’ve worked hard to acquire new coping skills and I’ve practiced them enough that they’re becoming habitual. At least they’re consciously habitual, whereas my compulsive addictive behaviors are unconsciously habitual. So a combination of making sure I’m as protected as possible by saying my affirmations, staying aware of H.A.L.T, using the PCI, etc. I maintain relationships with people who know my story and will give me honest feedback about how I’m doing.

All written down, maybe it seems like I have to spend an inordinate amount of time on recovery stuff. And at first it seemed that way to me too, but it’s really not that bad. I certainly don’t spend nearly the same amount of time on recovery that I did on addictive behaviors. It’s like flossing your teeth. When you first start, your gums will bleed. You’ll forget. Sometimes you’ll haul yourself out of bed and sometimes you’ll just resolve to do better tomorrow. But on the whole, flossing is a good thing and after you acquire the habit, it’s not going to take so much time and energy to remember. And your gums won’t bleed any more.

So for a quick recap:
1. Staying in recovery takes conscious effort.
2. You can prepare for some difficult situations before they occur.
3. Others seem to whack you right between the eyes.
4. At those times, your conscious effort will afford you just enough space to get out of immediate danger.

In a later post I’ll explore how those “out of the blue” hits indicate either an unrecognized stressor or a lax program.

About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in recovery tools, sex addiction
4 comments on “Staying on Track
  1. GentlePath says:

    Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Adi Jaffe says:

    I agree whole heartedly with the idea that new habits have to be formed on top of old ones. I know first hand how hard that is when your instincts are towards old, familiar, behaviors.
    It takes time to adapt, as it took time to dig a hole as deep as most of us find ourselves in by the time we wake up.
    Sounds like you’re doing well with it though…

    Keep up the good work!

  3. GentlePath says:

    I tried hard to become an alcoholic and/or drug addict, but it just didn’t work. That was before crack and meth were on the scene though, so I was lucky.

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve pissed away sobriety – I’ve never heard it phrased like that before. But I totally understand fighting relapses with all your strength, knowing that it’s just a matter of time until you lose.

    Still, it takes a lot of guts and even more humility to try and muster enough hope to try again. Good luck to you.

  4. Prester John says:

    I’m not exactly sure what we’re talking about here. If it’s booze or dope, I can relate. If it’s sex addiction, I can’t really. My brother is a compulsive gambler and I can’t relate to that either. I’m sympathetic to you both though. I just prefer to ruin my life with cocaine and Absolut. To each his own.

    I’ve pissed away a lot of sobriety – seven plus years and two and a half years. So far, I’ve never been struck drunk like so many have and like the Big Book describes. I’ve come close a couple of times, but never realized I had a beer in my hand and had relapsed without deciding to do it. Usually I fight it for months. (I’m not sure two relapses merits the term usually, but I’ve had many one month to one and a half year runs.) Each time I’ve packed away the Big Book, quit meetings and stopped talking to recovering people. I get cured or either things get so bad I just don’t care what happens to me. Once I pick back up though, it almost always takes a long time and a lot of intense pain for me to again be willing to embrace the AA philosophy.

    Good luck with your recovery.

Leave a Reply

