A New Book!

Augusten Burroughs has a new book out. I can’t wait till it comes in the mail. How did we survive before amazon.com?I read Running With Scissors toward the end of my stay in treatment. It was funny, kind of. Actually it’s not funny at all. I borrowed the book from one of the therapists and read it sitting on the floor in my room, crying and laughing my way through the pages. I was a little concerned that all that emoting meant I was falling off the deep end (again) but I wasn’t. That feeling your feelings shit is tough.

I went into therapy honestly believing I had never been abused or molested. It’s not that I’d forgotten what happened to me, it’s just that I didn’t name it. When I was going over my timeline, my therapist said when she heard me minimize my abuse, she felt sad. Hearing that, I felt angry. I despised weak people who blamed all their problems on their pasts. In the grand scheme of things, what happened to me didn’t seem that bad. And that’s enough of that sad story for today, boys and girls.

I’m an avid reader, but Burroughs is the first author I’ve ever contacted. I was embarrassed to say how much his book affected me so I made a joke about sex with priests. (His gave good head, mine gave good phone.) It wasn’t that funny but some friend who reads his email wrote back, which embarrassed but secretly pleased me. I was worthy of a reply. That felt really good!

clipped from www.amazon.com

A Memoir of My Father

A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father (Hardcover)
by Augusten Burroughs (Author)
blog it
About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in good books

Leave a Reply

