Misfits Anonymous

It’s depressing. I really feel different from other addicts in recovery. “Find God or die.” I’m really tired of hearing that. There are parts of my particular program that are (in my opinion) wrong and I’m tempted to attend a different fellowship, but it would still be a long drive. And my former therapist said once that if he were a sex addict, he’d attend that fellowship’s meetings instead of the one he’d suggested to me. There are only two choices unless I’m going to drive 4 hours or start a different meeting in my own town, which would be weird since I’d be in a different fellowship from my sponsor and sponsees.

And unlike most atheists, I’m in a 12-step recovery program and plan to vote for McCain and Palin, despite my disagreement with her religious views. 

I’m pretty sure this qualifies me for misfits anonymous.

It’s a lonely group.

About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in atheism, life in general, sex addiction
5 comments on “Misfits Anonymous
  1. Although not an atheist, I can understand what you’re saying.

    I have my own issues with the group at times. I’ve also found that all S fellowships are pretty much the same… it is the groups and regions that seem to make the difference. Some groups have a better focus on the problem than others.

    I really dislike hearing stories about groups with rigid philosophies. There is not “right” way to work recovery. Every addict needs something different.

    There are many atheists and agnostics in my SAA fellowship. They have found methods that work well for them, like the group conscience being their higher power. Or a humanistic kind of view, with the greater good being their higher power.

    Whatever works for you!

  2. DrPsych says:

    Voting differences aside, my issues with god were my reasons for leaving “the fellowship.”
    I have to say, I don’t miss them. In fact, it seems to me that since leaving, I’ve managed to keep my addiction in mind, being watchful of pitfalls, while developing healthy relationships with people who aren’t addicts.
    Who’d have thunk it???

  3. Joe says:

    I’m not an atheist, but I AM an Uber Agnostic, which is why I’m still stuck on Step 2. The suggestion was made to me that I should make the group, the fellowship if you will, my higher power. So far, it’s kinda working.

    Anyway, I might be voting the same way.

  4. Mary (MPJ) says:

    What’s the matter with misfits? That’s where we fit in.

    This post is for you:
    http://mamampj.blogspot.com/2007/12/official-associates-with-loners.html

    Ok, I know that was a tongue in cheek response, but at the same time… Sending you lots of love on your quest to be independent together with others.

  5. thestranger says:

    Its a lonely group, but its the most awesome one around. When I grew up I was raised as a Baptist, but over time I started becoming an Atheist. When I hit a bump in the road in my life and went looking for help, I was told to go to Church and that the lack of God in my life was the problem. I’m sure they meant well, but it was less than helpful for me. Sitting in a church feeling guilty about being the only one their without faith would be quite tough.

Leave a Reply

