Thoughts on a Sunday morning.

cardcatalog

I sat down this morning figuring I’d post about what happened with the whole rough-patch-in-the-desert thing. Instead, I’ve spent the past half hour at condron.us viewing a series of random blogs. At first I thought it was one of those stupid link-farm sites, but it’s actually kind of fun. 

I had no idea that rabbit urine was really bad, or that young goats and young humans have similar digestive systems (in so far as the role of the small intestines goes). I’d forgotten that I like the word ruminate. And until today, I didn’t know that abomasum and maw are synonyms. 

People my age used to use encyclopedias. An actual door to door salesman came to our house with samples and sold my parents a set of World Book Encyclopedias. Nearly a yard of hardback books filled with articles and pictures that cost a small fortune. Even in high school, I wrote most of my papers by picking a random encyclopedia and flipping through until I found some interesting pictures. For English papers, we could pick our topic since the teacher was interested in having us practice paraphrasing, proper citation, good sentence structure, punctuation, spelling, and so forth. Everything was done in pencil, turned in to be corrected, then handed back to be rewritten neatly in ink. In cursive. And by the way, sentence fragments like the one I just wrote were for published authors only. I had a big argument about that with one of my teachers because I thought it added emphasis and sounded edgy while she thought I was a pain in the ass who didn’t want to follow the rules.

I feel a little sad for young people. They don’t know what it’s like to leaf through an encyclopedia and be delightfully sidetracked. And libraries – there’s something unholy about a computerized card catalog. It doesn’t smell. The old card catalogs smelled of adventure and worlds yet unknown. But I feel happy for me. I remember the magic of the library and I was born in a time before Pong, when cartoons were on Saturday mornings only (so parents could sleep in) and there was nothing to do but read and play and think.

I wonder if it’s the same for every generation? Probably. I remember being so glad I wasn’t born in my mother’s time, when girls couldn’t even wear pants to school. My grandmother broke both her ankles jumping off a buggy with a run away horse. She was in the hospital for over a year and never walked right again. She was lucky. For awhile, it looked like they’d have to amputate both her feet. I heard that story and was glad that I lived when there were good doctors and hospitals – and they were getting better all the time. I wished there was a way I could skip forward in time so I could see what the future would be like, think of what we’ll be able to do then! But nowadays I’m content with where I am. My kids feel sorry for me because I grew up without Wii and texting, but I don’t want to switch worlds with them any more than my mother and grandmother wanted to switch with me.

It’s a neat age. I have a foot in both worlds. I miss the card catalog, but the random blogs this morning were a blast! And now that I’ve written this, I’m going to indulge in Post Secret before I do my nails and figure out what we’re going to have for dinner. Still, there’s something here that’s just a little sad. We need to touch more than our keyboards and mice. We need to feel real hugs ((((hugs))))) and see real smiles. We need real emotional connection, not just emoticons.

About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Posted in life in general
2 comments on “Thoughts on a Sunday morning.
  1. I took my son to the main LA Public library for the first time recently. It’s a huge old building and there is a beautiful kids section (series of rooms actually) that look like the set for an Ivy League college library.

    As we were leaving my son asked about the antique-looking wooden mailboxes in the foyer. They didn’t open, but had plaques with names of donors affixed to them. Curious about the history of the building, we went back to ask the librarian what they were.

    She gave a look of horrified shock as she squeaked, “That was the card catalogue!”

    How quickly we forget! So I had the fun of explaining to my son about what it was like before the library was computerized.

    I really enjoy your blog. Thanks for writing.

  2. elihornby says:

    Loved this post. I was always the kid who didn’t want to follow the rules, too. Why write in complete sentences, with APA documentation, when you can have more impact with poetry, sentence fragments, and whatever else strikes your fancy? Why write from an balanced detached point of view when you can engage your reader by being unconventionally personal and direct? College writing was pretty much the main reason I didn’t go back for my Master’s Degree. I did get encouragement from some of the writings of John Cage, as bizarre and strange as he can be. He always used the form and container of his writing to convey as much of his meaning as the actual words.

    And yes, we definitely need real hugs and smiles – it’s a problem that won’t go away in our compartmentalized lives, and we all have to find some way for to find that genuine connection.

Leave a Reply

