Be here now.

“To be open to the world in which you find yourself, to be able to experience wonder at its magnificence, is to begin to admit its reality and adapt to it. Be here now. It is to place yourself in relation to it, to say: Before I came here, the world was as it is now; after I am gone, it will be that way still. To experience wonder is to know this truth: The world won’t adapt to me. I must adapt to it. To experience humility is the true survivor’s correct response to catastrophe.”

Page 204-205 of Deep Survival.

One of the things that bothers me about my involvement in 12-steps is the amount of religious stuff (okay, okay, spiritual stuff) that I hear. Usually I practice a live and let live attitude and just ignore it. I’m not the atheist apologist for the 12-steps. However it does get on my nerves when people start to rant that “God is in the Big Book” and therefore they’re not going to apologize for talking about Him (rather than using the more pc term, Higher Power).

Blech. Big Book thumping, just like Bible thumping leads to a direct shut down of critical thinking and that’s not where I want to go.

But I digress.

What I meant to talk about was how I’ve gotten away from “conference approved literature.” It’s not that I think those books or readings aren’t any good. It’s just that I’ve changed. I’ve grown. And the books that appeal to me now are different, which makes sense, right? I’m different.

You know that old adage about the three blind men in a room with an elephant? One says the elephant is like a broom with a flexible handle. The second says the elephant is like a rough leather wall. The third says no, the elephant is soft and flexible, like a well worn leather jacket. I don’t remember exactly how it goes, but you get the idea. They’re all right and none of them are right. Books like Deep Survival can be an asset to anyone’s recovery because they help you get a different view of the (recovery) elephant.

Click on the cartoon below if you want to read a poem that was based on the original folktale.

The blind men and the elephant. Poem by John Godfrey Saxe (Cartoon originally copyrighted by the authors; G. Renee Guzlas, artist).

The blind men and the elephant. Poem by John Godfrey Saxe (Cartoon originally copyrighted by the authors; G. Renee Guzlas, artist).

About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in atheism

Leave a Reply

