Whiskey in my milk.

 

my ipod ad

So here was today’s brilliant idea. I could download an erotic “book” from audible.com to listen to during my workout.

wtf?

For those who read the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous, there’s a story about a guy who’s doing really well with his AA program. He’s sober and been sober for awhile. So one day while at lunch he orders a whiskey with his lunch. He has some vague notion that since he’s drinking it with milk, it’s okay. Healthy. Because everyone knows that milk is good for you.

I like to listen to audiobooks while I exercise. Everyone knows that exercise is good for you, right?

Unlike the guy in the story, I realized how crazy this sounds before going on a bender, before I slipped.

But damn. It pisses me off. And I’m so f-ing horny I could peel my skin off.

Hungry? No.
Angry? Yes.
Lonely? A little.
Tired? Yeah, but not really sleepy, just cranky.

Sometimes recovery is like taking care of my toddler-self. Although I’m throwing a fit for candy, what I really need is to do my exercise, eat dinner, and go to bed on time.

About

Wife. Mother. Atheist. Aspergers. Sex Addict in Recovery.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in 12-step recovery, rants
3 comments on “Whiskey in my milk.
  1. DrPsych says:

    Thanks for sharing Gentle… You’re always very aware of the things you’re going through.

  2. Tess says:

    I tend to think of recovery as finally being able to grow up and become a functioning adult.

  3. Mary (MPJ) says:

    “Taking care of my toddler-self.” I love that! I definitely need work on getting my toddler-self to bed on time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

